Financials & Governance

Stewardship and Transparency
Responsible stewardship of donor dollars and transparency to the community are deeply embedded in the culture of Charleston Animal Society. We have earned the Platinum Seal of Transparency from GuideStar, the only program of its kind that encourages nonprofit transparency on a national scale and allows nonprofits to supplement the public information that is available from the IRS. By adding information about our goals, strategies, capabilities, achievements, and progress indicators, we are highlighting the difference we help to make in the world.

Our promise is to care for animals and the people who love them. In all of our dealings, our goal is to provide compassionate care and progressive solutions to help animals and people. Our programs and services are delivered with the highest standards of responsibility and good stewardship of financial and human resources.


The Board of Directors for the Charleston Animal Society is a volunteer oversight body for the organization. Board members set the vision for the organization and they are the fiduciaries who steer the organization towards a sustainable future by adopting sound, ethical, and legal governance and financial management policies, as well as by making sure the organization has adequate resources to advance its mission.

Executive Committee of the Board

Laurel Greer, Chairwoman

Gerri Greenwood, Vice Chairwoman
Martin Deputy, Vice Chairman
Aussie Geer, Vice Chairwoman
Patricia Henley, Secretary

Jane Graham, Treasurer

Donald M. Smith
Louise Palmer

Edward “Ted” Corvey, III, Esq.
Luigi Bravo

Hank Greer, Immediate Past Chairman

Members of the Board

Class of 2023

Hank Greer
Laurel Greer

Class of 2024

Patricia Henley
George “Pat” Waters

Class of 2025

Martin Deputy
David Maybank, Jr., Esq.

Robert Nigro

Louise Palmer

Class of 2027

Linda Bakker

Caroline Clark

Richard Murphy

Carolyn Murray

Members of the Board

Class of 2028

Donald M. Smith

Jane Graham

Luigi Bravo

Brantley Meier, DC
Edward “Ted” Corvey, III, Esq.

Class of 2030

Aussie Geer

Gerri Greenwood

Class of 2031

William Asche, Esq.

Cara Bibbiana

Catherine Brack

Arlene Morris

Shelly Leeke, Esq.

County Council Liaison

Councilman Henry Darby